Snack your way Thin

5 08 2010

This is where I have become pretty disciplined over the years. How many of you are guilty of grabbing a few goldfish from your kids plate, a handful of Teddy Grahams out of the cupboard or a bite of mac and cheese your little one left behind?!? That can easily add up to an extra 500 calories throughout the day. Seven days of that and you packed on an extra pound…3 lbs a month  (1lb of fat = 3500cal)! Remember how I said in my last post that the little things we do that we think aren’t making a difference add up over time?  This is one of them!

Having said that, allowing more than three or four hours to pass between meal/snacks puts our body in starvation mode. Every single day I make sure my snacks are planned and purposeful. I eat every 3 hours before my body gets hungry and there is always a source of protein. This keeps me from making bad food choices and ensures my metabolism is working in my favor.

In a snack rut?  Here are some of my favorite go-to snacks. Choose two of these 100-200 calories snacks twice a day to keep your metabolism revved up! And, please don’t hesitate to share your favorite healthy snacks! If this just isn’t enough and and you want the guess work taken out completely, the Beachbody Club membership does meal planning complete with meals and snacks design specifically for your fitness or weight loss goals. You can even have your grocery list printed out. It’s simple, convenient and just plain awesome! At the very least, sign up for the FREE general membership so you can get my motivational emails along with tips and tricks to help you with your fitness journey.

  • 1 tablespoon all natural peanut butter and 1 medium apple 
  • 1 small pear and 1 string cheese 
  • 12 whole grain crackers with 2oz of low fat cheese 
  • ¾ cup of plain Greek yogurt with ½ sliced banana
  •  1 large hard boiled egg 
  • ½ cup 1% cottage cheese with ¼ cup of fresh mixed berries 
  • 20 Almonds 
  • 4oz lean roast beef rolled up and dipped in honey Dijon 
  • 1 rice cake with thin layer of almond butter 
  • 2 tbsp of bean dip and 20 baked tortilla chips 
  • Half of my peanut butter lovers chocolate Shakeology smoothie (1/2 scoop choc Shakeology, 1tbsp natural pb, ½ cup skim milk, ½ cup water, lots of ice, blended) 
  • 14 baked tortilla chips and 2 tablespoons of fat-free bean dip ½ cup low-fat cottage cheese and 2/3 cup raspberries, blueberries, or strawberries

In this together!

Sommer

“The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”
-John Bingham, running speaker and writer


Actions

Information

Leave a comment